Athletic Hall of Fame

The Saint Mary's College Athletic Hall of Fame was instituted in 1993 by Athletic Director Jo-Ann Nester. Nester, who served as athletic director from 1984 to 1993, was instrumental in the Department's move from the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) to the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA). Now an honoree herself, Nester is among 29 individuals and two teams currently in the Hall of Fame.

Summer 2011 marks the next class of inductees. Two individuals and one team joined the ranks of Saint Mary's Athletic Hall of Fame honorees in conjuction with the College's Reunion Weekend festivities in June. The 1988-89 Tennis team, Megan Ramsey (Swimming, '04), and Stefanie Simmerman (Golf, '05) were all formally inducted into the Hall of Fame at a celebratory dinner on Friday, June 3 on the Saint Mary's College campus.

Read more about the 2011 Hall of Fame Class by clicking here.


Reunion and Sunburst 2011

In addition to the Reunion and Hall of Fame Induction programming, several other athletically related events are being offered during the weekend. Among those offerings is the 2011 Sunburst race series. Marathon, half marathon, 10k, and 5k race offerings are all available ( with registration fees increasing after March 30. For more information on joining other Saint Mary's community members, contact Jackie Bauters via email or by calling 574-284-4027.


Hall of Fame Inductees

Class of 1993

Tammye Radke Raster ’88 (Basketball)
Sarah Mayer Carron ’91 (Tennis)

Class of 1994

Patty Hatfield Hagan ’88 (Soccer)
Julie Radke Park ’90 (Basketball)

Class of 2001

1934 Field Hockey Team
Mary Fran Shaff Meekison ’40 (Tennis)
Marvin Wood (Basketball Coach ’84-’95)
Dr. Jo-Ann Nester (Athletic Director ’84-’93/Tennis Coach ’84-’85, ’89)
Dr. Debra Laverie (Tennis ’81-’85/Tennis Coach ’85-’89)
Meghan Rafferty Weldon ’88 (Swimming/Diving)
Kelly Ann Cook Collins ’92 (Soccer)
Karen Lynn Lorton ’93 (Volleyball)
Megan Marie Dalsasso ’94 (Soccer)
Nicole Hill Colucci ’91 (Track and Field)

Class of 2002

Anne Armstrong Amick ’83 (Basketball)
Tom Van Meter (Soccer Coach ’87-’93)
Janine Adamo Below ’87 (Softball)
Cathy Maddox Blum ’77 (Basketball)
Gail Casey O’Grady Slevin ’84 (Swimming)
Jennifer Block Howard ’90 (Tennis)
Patricia Troester Collins ’91 (Soccer)

Class of 2006

About the Inductees
Annette Isom '83 (Track and Field)
Marcia Gaus Berry '91 (Soccer)
Mary Cosgrove '94 (Tennis)
Jennie Taubenheim Robinette '96 (Basketball)
Allison Smith '98 (Swimming)
Stacy Davis '99 (Track and Field)
Larry Szczechowski (Track and Field Coach '83-'01)

Class of 2011

1988-89 Tennis Team
Megan Ramsey '04 (Swimming)
Stefanie Simmerman '05 (Golf)


If you have any additional questions, please call the Athletic Department at (574) 284-4694.