2010 Basketball All-MIAA

Kammrath and Murphy Named All-MIAA

ROYAL OAK, Mich. - Among the 12 women named to the 2010 Women's Basketball All-MIAA First and Second teams were two members of Saint Mary's squad.  Anna Kammrath was given the nod for All-MIAA First Team honors while fellow post player Kelley Murphy was tabbed as an All-MIAA Second Team selection.

Kammrath had a stellar all-around senior season for the Belles.  Overall, she had career-highs in points (298), scoring average (11.0 ppg), rebounds (265), steals (56), minutes played (729), free throws made (72), and free throw percentage (69.2 percent).  In conference play, she finished tenth in scoring average (10.9 ppg) and steals (30), sixth in free throw percentage (70.7 percent), and led the MIAA in offensive rebounds (64), defensive rebounds (97), total rebounds (161), and rebounding average (10.1 rpg).

Murphy led the Belles in both scoring (383 points) and blocked shots (28) on the season.  She scored at least ten points in 23 of the team's 27 games, which included 15 of the team's 16 MIAA games, and was second on the team behind Kammrath in rebounding with 193 boards.  In MIAA contests, she was third in scoring average (14.2 ppg) and offensive rebounds (50), fourth in rebounding average (7.6 rpg) and defensive rebounding (4.44 drpg), tied for fifth in blocked shot average (0.94 blocks/gm), sixth in free throw percentage (77.6 percent), and eighth in steals (31).

It is the first time for either of the two players to be named to an All-MIAA Team.  Earlier in the season, they each were named an MIAA Women's Basketball Player of the Week with Murphy earning the honor in the fourth week of the season and Kammrath getting the nod for the ninth week of the season.  The Belles finished the season in third place in the MIAA.

All-MIAA Women’s Basketball

Most Valuable Player
Carissa Verkaik, Calvin

Defensive Player of the Year
Philana Greene, Hope

All-MIAA First Team
Philana Greene, Hope** (senior from Grandville, Mich./Grandville HS)
Anna Kammrath, Saint Mary’s* (senior from Union Mills, Ind./South Central HS)
Melissa Shaw, Albion* (junior from Jackson, Mich./Northwest HS)
Carrie Snikkers, Hope** (junior from Jenison, Mich./Hudsonville Unity Christian HS)
Brook Van Eck, Calvin** (senior from Lowell, Mich./Lowell HS)
Carissa Verkaik, Calvin* (freshman from Holland, Mich./Holland Christian HS)
* - Number of years All-MIAA First Team

All-MIAA Second Team
Sydney Beckwith, Alma (junior from Weidman, Mich./Beal City HS)
Kelley Murphy, Saint Mary’s (sophomore from Olathe, Kan./ Notre Dame de Sion HS)
Jennifer Perrin, Adrian (senior from Richland, Mich./Gull Lake HS)
Danielle Senf, Trine (sophomore from Blanchardville, Wis./Pecatonica HS)
Anita Stamps, Adrian (senior from River Rouge, Mich./Allen Park Inter-City Baptist HS)
Olivia Yarrell, Olivet (sophomore from Lansing, Mich./Sexton HS)