2012 Honors Convocation

Saint Mary’s College graduation events began on Sunday, May 6 with individual departmental hooding ceremonies. Students lined up as professors placed traditional graduation hoods over each senior’s shoulders.

Afterward, a procession of students and faculty wound its way through campus to O’Laughlin Auditorium, greeted by cheers from family and friends.

Honors Convocation recognized 160 honors students: 91 cum laude, 54 magna cum laude, and 15 summa cum laude.

Each department recognized its outstanding students. Additionally, three professors—Susan M. Vance, Joseph M. Incandela, and William L. Svelmoe—were honored for excellence. Junior Carla Leal received the Saint Catherine Medal for demonstrating high standards of personal excellence and scholarship and contributing to the College community in the spirit of Christian leadership. Leal has volunteered more than 1,200 hours in community service since she entered Saint Mary’s.

All aforementioned awards are listed here:

Departmental Awards
Saint Luke’s Medal: Sarah Capaldi
Sister Edna Service Award: Katheryn Fisher

Mother M. Rose Elizabeth Award: Kelsey Sugrue
Sister M. Rosaleen Dunleavy Allied Health Award: Lindsey Blankenberger and Krystal Holtcamp
George and Juanda Bick Nature Award: Kate Kirbie

Business Administration and Economics
Outstanding Achievement in Business Administration and Economics: Elizabeth Busam
Frank A. Yeandel Service Award: Sarah McCroy
Academic Achievement Award: Margaret Dobihal
Achievement Award in Accounting: Elizabeth Tortorello
Achievement Award in Economics: Elizabeth Busam
Achievement Award in Finance: Sarah McCroy
Achievement Award in International Business: Maria Spyhalski
Achievement Award in Management: Elizabeth Leeuw
Achievement Award in Marketing: Kelly Conaty
Achievement Award in Management Information Systems: Kimberly Jordan
Business Administration Comprehensive Award: Allison Courtney, Katelyn Dapper,
Maggie DePaola, Stephanie Dock, Kimberly Jordan, Jordan Lierz, Caitlin Puntillo, and Lindsey Stuss
Economics Comprehensive Exam Award: Elizabeth Busam

Mother M. Rose Elizabeth Award: Teresa Cristarella
American Institute of Chemists Award: Caitlyn Wonski

Communication Studies, Dance and Theatre
Excellence in Communication Studies Award: Alexandra Davin and Caitlin Housley
Excellence in Dance Award: Hayley Racz
Excellence in Theatre Award: Victoria Flees

Mary A. McDermott Award: Emily Suprenant
Grace Sullivan McGuire Award: Elizabeth Karpus

Elisabeth A. Noel English Prize: Emma Brink and Claire Buethe
Laurie A. Lesniewski Creative Writing Award: Ashley Biehl and Alicia Smith

Martha Montgomery Schurz Memorial Award: Elissa Gennicks
Blecka-Zatko Award for Outstanding Research and Writing: Katharine Curtis and Ariel Terpstra

Humanistic Studies
Thomas More Award: Megan Loney

Intercultural Studies
Intercultural Studies Award: Maricruz Cárdenas and Anne Reagan

Milko Jeglic Award: Danielle Gannon
Donald E. Miller Award: Anne Bulger

Modern Languages
Award for Academic Achievement in Spanish: Emily Kieffer and Rachel Thiel
Leonilda Francesca Acerra and Dominico Enrico Cristofaro Award: Christina Girardi

Music Award: Alexis Hiner

Evelyn McGuiness Award: Julia Humprey
Humanitarian Award: Christine Hendershot and Remi Lynn White
Mary Jo Regan-Kubinski Award: Molly Borg
Sister Olivia Marie Hutchenson Service Award: Remi Lynn White

Political Science
Juliette Noone Lester Award: Melody Alvarado

Outstanding Achievement Award: Elizabeth Labuzienski
Joseph Miller Outstanding Scholarship Award: Jamie Schmidt
Award in Communicative Disorders: Lori LeClere and Jamie Schmidt

Religious Studies
Helen Carroll Award: Stephanie Cherpak and Rebecca Marie Jones

Social Work
Academic Excellence Award: Aileen Hurd
Leadership Award: Kirsten Thornton
Josephine Murphy Kuhl Research Award: Monica Drettman and Sarah Shoff
Kristi Morris Award: Alma Bravo

The Sociology Award: Kelly Reidenbach

Women’s Studies
Women’s Studies Prize: Rebecca Marie Jones

Faculty Awards
Spes Unica Award: Joseph M. Incandela, Professor of Religious Studies
Susan M. Vance, Professor of Business Law

Maria Pieta Award: William L. Svelmoe, Associate Professor of History

Saint Catherine’s Medal
Carla Leal