Department and College Awards

The following Department and College Awards were given at Saint Mary's 2018 Honors Convocation on Sunday, May 6:


Saint Luke’s Medal – Stephanie Stapleton


Mother M. Rose Elizabeth Award – Catherine Bruno and Princess Mae Visconde

Sister M. Rosaleen Dunleavy Award – Darya Bonderenko and Mackenzie Duncan

George and Juanda Bick Nature Award – Hanna Makowski

Business Administration and Economics

Frank A. Yeandel Service Award – Sarah Connaughton

Jerome L. McElroy Outstanding Achievement Award – Kelsey Kopf

Academic Achievement Award – Maura Barry

Academic Achievement Award (Accounting) – Kelsey Kopf

Academic Achievement Award (Finance) – Margaret Cox

Academic Achievement Award (International Business) – Ming Sun

Academic Achievement Award (Management) – Baylee Matison

Academic Achievement Award (Marketing) – Jamie Moran

Ernst & Young Award – Sarah Connaughton

Deloitte Award – Abigail Lukas

Bridget Anderson/KPMG Award – Sonia Torres

Crowe Horwath Award– Rachel Moore

PricewaterhouseCoopers Award – Katherine Ryan

Accounting Honor Society
Kasey Auckland, Sarah Connaughton, Delaney Gilbert, Kelsey Kopf, Abigail Lukas, Mary Clare Vicenzi, Rose Marie Vicenzi Finance Honor Society – Kasey Auckland, Sarah Connaughton, Margaret Cox, Gabrielle Holland, Caroline Johnson, Abigail Lukas, and Rachel Moore

Marketing Honor Society
Alyssa Atkinson, Kimberly Bilinski, Courtney Carpenter, Margaret Cox, Emily Doyle, Lillian Freund, Caroline Hall, Mary Heller, Caroline Johnson, Elizabeth Mason, Baylee Matison, Erin McManus, Theresa McSorley, Jamie Moran, Michaela Petrarca, and Courtney Quinlan

Chemistry and Physics

Mother M. Rose Elizabeth Award – Katie Breakfield and Kate McMahon

American Institute of Chemists Award – Leah Buck

Richard Tarara Achievement in Physics Award – Erin Patterson

Communication Studies, Dance, and Theatre

Ann Plamondon Award for Excellence in Communication Studies – Molly Grimes, Kayse McGough, Molly Zadell, Colleen Zewe

Communication Studies Service Award – Lauren Caracciolo

Excellence in Theatre Award – Makenna Henell

Communicative Sciences and Disorders

Ancora Imparo Award – Hannah Beach


Mary A. McDermott Award – Megan Shea

Grace Sullivan McGuire Award – Courtney Mills


Elisabeth A. Noel English Prize – Martha Reilly

Laurie A. Lesniewski Creative Writing Award – Cecilia Greubel and Olivia Jones

Environmental Studies

Environmental Studies Award – Jennifer Hagenauer

Gender and Women’s Studies

Mary Frances Eder Halpin Award in Gender and Women’s Studies – Alexandria Shambery, Julia Sturges, Taylor Thomas

Global Studies

Outstanding Achievement in Global Studies – Louise Chetcuti


Martha Montgomery Schurz Memorial Award for Excellence in History – Brooke Lamb and Kayse McGough

Martha Montgomery Schurz Memorial Award for Excellence in the Senior Seminar Research Paper – Lillian Cronin

Martha Montgomery Schurz Memorial Award for Excellence in Writing in the Women’s History Program – Alison Tipton

Humanistic Studies

Thomas More Award – Mia Kincaid and Abigail Spica

Intercultural Studies

Intercultural Studies Prize – Madison Gonzales and Taylor Thomas


Milko Jeglic Award – Arianna Iannuzzi

Donald E. Miller Award – Catalina Vajiac

Modern Languages

Bayhouse-Marcy Award in French – Hope Celmer

Leonilda Francesca Acerra and Dominico Enrico Christofaro Award in Italian – Stephanie Stapleton

Ann Cashore Borjas Award in Spanish – Jessica Abalos and Julie Weilbaker


Emma Krost Eder Award for Musical Excellence – Katherine Freed

Nursing Science

Evelyn McGuiness Award for Excellence in Nursing – Morgan Klein

Humanitarian in Nursing Award – Therese Dudro

Political Science

Juliette Noone Lester Award – Martha Reilly


Animating Spirit Award – Taylor Burger and Kathleen Thursby

Joseph Miller Outstanding Scholarship Award – Melissa Henry, Kaitlin Ryczek, Kayla Zellmer

Religious Studies

Helen Carroll Award – Stephanie Snyder

Social Work and Gerontology

Academic Excellence Award – Kelly Geelan

Leadership Award – Jessica Ladd

Josephine Murphy Kuhl Research Award – Marilla Opra


Donald N. M. Horning Award – Emily Baert

Sociology Award – Kristie LeBeau and Isabella Speedon

Sister Franzita Kane Essay Contest Winners 2018

Literature Category  –  Kaitlin Emmet ’20 and Allyson White ’21

Peace and Justice Category  – Teresa Brickey ’19; Honorable Mention: Veronika Hanks ’18

Science and Social Science Category  –  Veronika Hanks ’18 and Alyssa Rogers ’18

Senior Comprehensive Category  – Olivia Jones ’18

Open Category  – Cecilia Greubel ’18; Honorable Mention: Stephanie Dyga ’18

Mary Ellen Smith Academic and Athletic Achievement Award 
Makenzie Duncan

Saint Mary’s College Alumnae Association 2018 Outstanding Senior Award
Melissa Henry

Sister M.L. Gude, CSC, Student Success Award 
MaKayla Roberts

President Emeritus Carol Ann Mooney Award 
Elizabeth Mason

National Endowment for the Humanities-funded
Student Independent Study and Research (SISTAR) Research Teams

Riley Harber ’19 and Assistant Professor Dionne Irving Bremyer
J’ai deux amours, mon pays et Paris

Evelyn Cornwell ’19 and Associate Professor Laura Elder
Island empowerment as global endowment: envisioning sustainability across the Indian and Pacific Oceans

Jordan Lolmaugh ’19 and Associate Professor Jamie Wagman
Transgender in the heartland: seeking and finding community in small town mid-America

Maryjeanne R. Burke and Daughters Pre-tenure Faculty SISTAR

Samantha Schickel ’19 and Associate Professor Tracy Anderson
Implementing data analytics technology for vital statistics evaluation in Uganda

Alicia Twisselmann ’19 and Assistant Professor Teresa Aubele-Futch
Assessing models of behavioral flexibility and divided attention in a rat model of attention-deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD)