Saint Mary’s Announces New Trustees for 2009-2010


Saint Mary’s College Announces New Trustees for 2009-2010

Gwen O’Brien
Director of Media Relations
Saint Mary's College
(574) 284-4579

July 17, 2009 (Notre Dame, Ind.)—The Saint Mary’s College Board of Trustees elected four members to the board and appointed one at its summer meeting. The terms, which began in June, range from one to three years. Elected to three year terms on the board are Almira Wilson Cann ’69; Sister Maureen Grady, CSC; Rose Marie Lopez Jones ’80; and Carmen Murphy. The Board also appointed Kristle D. Hodges ’10 as the student trustee, to a one-year term.

Cann is an ophthalmologist with a solo practice in Pasadena, California. She earned a bachelor’s degree in chemistry from Saint Mary's College, a PhD from Columbia University, and a medical degree and a master’s degree in business administration from the University of California at Los Angeles. Cann previously served as a member of the Saint Mary’s College Board of Trustees from 1996-1999.

Grady’s background is in nursing and pastoral services. Most recently she served as director of field ministry at Saint Vincent de Paul Regional Seminary in Boynton Beach, Florida. She served in the Middle East in several capacities, working in Lebanon. She served as a professor of pastoral formation at the Latin Rite Diocese, as the consultant for pastoral education for the Leadership Conference of Women Religious and as director of the Pontifical Mission, the papal agency for Middle East relief and development. Her service includes work with Catholic Relief Services in the Middle East and Asia.  She earned her registered nurse diploma from Holy Cross School of Nursing, a bachelor’s degree in nursing from Loyola University, and from the Christian Theology Seminary earned a master’s degree in pastoral care and counseling and a doctor of ministry degree.

Jones has been a surgeon with Carmel Surgical Specialists PC in Carmel, Indiana since 1980. She has been a clinical assistant professor of surgery at the Indiana University School of Medicine since 1990. She earned a bachelor’s degree in chemistry from Saint Mary’s College and a medical degree from Indiana University School of Medicine. Jones completed her general surgery residency at Indiana University Medical Center. She served as a member of the President’s Advisory Council at Saint Mary’s from 2006-2008. She was the College’s 2002 Shannon Executive Scholar, and upon graduating from Saint Mary’s in 1980 she received the Lumen Christi Award, presented to a senior who is recognized by the College community as an outstanding Christian woman.

Murphy was re-elected to the board after a one-year absence. She served on the Board of Trustees from 1999-2008. Murphy, a resident of South Bend, Indiana, is a community leader and volunteer, serving on the Indiana University South Bend Arts Foundation Board, the Indiana University South Bend Campaign Committee, the WNIT Public Television Board, the Family and Children’s Center Foundation Board, the United Way Campaign Board and the Snite Museum of Art Advisory Board (University of Notre Dame). In 2007 she was honored with the PBS National Volunteer of the Year award and the United Way of St. Joseph County Volunteer of the Year award. Murphy is a graduate of Vanderbilt University.

The board appointed Hodges to a one-year term as the student trustee for 2009-2010. The South Holland, Illinois native is majoring in English writing, with minors in religious studies and women’s studies. She has served on the Board of Governance (BOG) since 2007. Her BOG duties have included working as an admissions commissioner and as the liaison between the governing board and the Office of Admission. She also served on the enrollment management committee on the Board of Trustees. Other leadership experience includes serving as a member and current president of the Voices of Faith Gospel Choir.

In addition, the board elected two existing members to the vice chair and secretary. Susan Fitzgerald Rice ’61 will serve a three-year term as vice chair and Beverly Troxler O’Grady ’63 will serve a one-year term as secretary.

Resigning from the board after 13 years is Sister Veronique Wiedower, CSC, ’70 who has accepted a position in Campus Ministry at the College.  Sister Marianne Farina, CSC, also resigned from the board at the end of a three-year term due to additional responsibilities at the Dominican School of Philosophy and Theology. Courtney E. Parry ‘09 completed her one-year term as the student trustee for 2008-2009. Deborah Johnson Schwiebert ’74 completed 11 years of service on the board, during that time serving as chair and secretary.

About Saint Mary’s College: Saint Mary’s College, Notre Dame, Ind., is a four-year, Catholic, women’s institution offering bachelor’s degrees in more than 30 major areas of study. The College has six nationally accredited academic programs: social work, art, music, teacher education, chemistry and nursing. Saint Mary's College ranks among the nation's top liberal arts colleges in U.S. News & World Report's 2009 annual survey. Founded in 1844, Saint Mary’s is a pioneer in the education of women, and is sponsored by the Sisters of the Holy Cross.