Martin Luther King Jr. Day at Saint Mary’s

On Monday, January 18, Saint Mary’s held its annual Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Celebration. Organized through the President’s Council on Inclusivity and Multicultural Diversity (PCIMD), the 25-minute virtual ceremony honored the legacy of Dr. King and his impact on the College, the community, and the world.

The celebration contained messages from students, faculty, and alumnae, along with a performance of the Black National Anthem, Lift Every Voice and Sing by gospel artist Kirk Franklin.

Image of Martin Luther KingThe video also announced this year’s Drum Major awards. Given annually, the Drum Major awards are presented throughout the country to those who selflessly perform daily acts of service to make their communities a better place. Those recognized at Saint Mary’s were nominated by their colleagues, professors and administration. 

A warm welcome by Dr. Katie Conboy set the stage for the celebration. 

“Martin Luther King Day is the only federal holiday designated as a national day of service to encourage all Americans to volunteer to improve their communities,” Conboy said. “Today, we will honor 12 individuals and groups with the Martin Luther King Jr. Drum Major Award.”

Redgina Hill, executive director of the Office of Inclusion and Equity, and chair of the PCIMD, added, “These individuals and groups were nominated because of their personal and professional commitment to further the vision of Dr. King, especially in the areas of inclusion, diversity, equity and justice.”

The 2021 Drum Major award recipients are:

  • Kelly Hamilton, PhD, associate professor of history
  • Jessica Coblentz, PhD, professor of religious studies
  • Cadie Lourigan ’22, student
  • Leslie Wang, PhD, associate professor of sociology
  • Kristen Lynch ’91, staff
  • Jamie Wagman, PhD, associate professor of history, gender & women’s studies
  • Redgina Hill, PhD, administrator
  • Cibele Webb PhDc, associate professor of nursing
  • Jalyn King ’20, alumna
  • Mana Derakhshani, PhD, director of CWIL
  • La Fuerza, student club
  • Sandra Usuga Giraldo, PhD, professor of modern languages

Other speakers at the 2021 celebration include Giavanna Paradiso, student body president; alumna Romona Bethany ’04, project manager of GVI (Group Violence Intervention) for the City of South Bend; members of the Student Diversity Board; alumna Emmie Gardener ’82, CEO of Holy Cross Ministries in Salt Lake City; and faculty members Jamie Wagman and Ian Weaver.

A recording of the 2021 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Virtual Celebration can be viewed here

Cadie Lourigan
Cadie Lourigan ’22

Jamie Wagman, PhD
Jamie Wagman, PhD

LaFuerza Club
LaFuerza Club

Mana Derakhshani
Mana Derakhshani

Kristin Lynch
Kristen Lynch ’91

Sandra Giraldo
Sandra Giraldo

Leslie Wang
Leslie Wang, PhD

Jaylyn King
Jalyn King ’20

Cibele Webb
Cibele Webb, PhDc

Jessica Coblentz, PhD
Jessica Coblentz, PhD

Back to Stories