Sr. Rose Anne Schultz, CSC Mission Awards

On May 1, the Center for Faith, Action, and Ministry hosted the annual Sr. Rose Anne Schultz, CSC Mission Awards and Senior Recognition. At the ceremony, students are recognized for their work of faith and justice in the legacy of the Sisters of The Holy Cross. 

The Sr. Rose Anne Schultz, CSC Awards Ceremony honors the legacy of a remarkable woman who dedicated her life to embodying and promoting the mission and core values of Saint Mary's College. As the College's first Mission Officer, Sr. Rose Anne played a pivotal role in ensuring that the Holy Cross tradition of faith, service, and community remained at the heart of Saint Mary's. Through her tireless efforts, she fostered a spirit-centered atmosphere conducive to prayer, developing relationships with God, and attaining authentic self-knowledge among students, faculty, and staff. The annual awards ceremony serves as a testament to Sr. Rose Anne's unwavering commitment to addressing the world beyond the College and applying her skills and knowledge to real-world scenarios.

This year, 12 students received awards for their contributions to Saint Mary’s and their community. The awards include various work from healthcare to ministry and service. Julianne Wallace, vice president for Mission, gave the opening remarks, followed by Nicole Labadie, director of the Center for Faith, Action, and Ministry, with the opening prayer. Each team member of the division presented an award to the recipient for all their work at the College or in the Saint Mary’s community. 

Seniors and ministry assistants received awards for their ongoing spiritual guidance to fellow students. These seniors hosted events, group studies, and prayer sessions within the residence halls. All the recipients received profound accomplishments for their continuous service to their residents. To conclude the ceremony, President Katie Conboy spoke about the students, their positive work at Saint Mary’s, and how they have lived out Catholic teachings as students. Farm Manager Matthew Insley provided the closing prayer.

The following students were honored: 

The Sister Maria Concepta McDermott, CSC Award Service in Education – Eleanor Zahorick ’24

Sister Kathleen Anne Nelligan, CSC Award Service in Ministry - Georgia Sigler ’24

The Sister Olivia Marie Hutcheson, CSC Award in Health Field - Victoria Hardt ’24

Sister Christine Healy, CSC Award Service with Women - Norah Como ’25

Sister Olivette Whalen, CSC Award General Service - Jean Ochoa ’25

Patricia Arch Green Award (Leadership of Beyond the Belle at the Notre Dame Center for Civic Innovation) - Mary Ellsworth ’26

Jane O’Rourke Bender Awards - 1st - Natalie Biegel ‘24, 2nd - Eleanor Zahorick ‘24 and 3rd - Amelia Brookshire ‘24

Mission Student Worker of the Year - Maria Dach ’26

Mission Impact Award - Mary O'Connell ’26 and Abigail Kawalec ’25

May 9, 2024

Back to Stories