Faller Earns First Team All-MIAA Honors

ROYAL OAK, Mich. - Saint Mary's sophomore tennis player Mary Catherine Faller was named First Team All-MIAA by league coaches, as announced by the league on Friday.

The sophomore played the 2012 campaign in the number one singles flight and number one doubles. Faller was 4-4 at number one singles in conference play this season while helping the Belles to a 5-3 record in one doubles in MIAA action. The team co-captain also won at least one game in each set of her conference contests during the season. It is the first time in her career she has earned MIAA postseason honors.

She becomes the ninth player in program history to earn All-MIAA First Team accolades. Moreover, at least one member of the Saint Mary's tennis team has been tabbed as either a First Team or Second Team All-MIAA honoree each year since 1998.

2012 All-MIAA Women's Tennis Team
Most Valuable Player
Kelsey Hassevoort, Kalamazoo (senior from Kalamazoo/Loy Norrix HS)

Karen Caine Scholar-Athlete Award
Kelsey Hassevoort, Kalamazoo (senior from Kalamazoo/Loy Norrix HS)

Sue Little Sportsmanship Award
Sarah Towler, Albion (senior from Milan/Milan HS)

All-MIAA First Team
Marissa Cloutier, Albion* (sophomore from Grosse Ile/Grosse Ile HS)
Kelsey Hassevoort, Kalamazoo** (senior from Kalamazoo/Loy Norrix HS)
Carli Capestany, Hope* (freshman from Hudsonville/Hudsonville HS)
Jessica Huhnke, Trine* (sophomore from Newburgh, Ind./Castle HS)
Katie Blumberg, Albion* (sophomore from Farmington Hills/Farmington HS)
Mary Catherine Faller, Saint Mary’s* (sophomore from Green Bay, Wis./Notre Dame Academy)

All-MIAA Second Team
Leah LaBarge, Hope (junior from Hudsonville/Hudsonville HS)
Paula Silverman, Kalamazoo (senior from Ann Arbor/Huron HS)
Megan Visser, Calvin (freshman from Kalamazoo/Kalamazoo Christian HS)
Casey Baxter, Hope (junior from Saline/Saline HS)
Caitlin LaValley, Olivet (junior from Battle Creek/Pennfield HS)
Irene Chen, Albion (freshman from Shenzen, China/Apple Valley, Minn. HS)

*- Number of years All-MIAA First Team