Team, Student-Athletes Recognized for Academics by IWLCA

GRAND LAKE, Colo. - The Saint Mary's lacrosse team and three student-athletes were recognized by the Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA) with Zag Sports Academic Honors.

The team was one of 308 schools across NCAA Division I, II, and III and NAIA to earn IWLCA Zag Sports Academic Honor Squad status for 2016-17. To qualify, the a team must have posted a 3.0 or higher team GPA for the academic year. Saint Mary's was part of a contingency of 143 NCAA Division III programs to pick up the recognition. Five MIAA programs earned a spot on the list for the 2016-17 academic year. It is the fourth consecutive IWLCA Academic Honor Squad award for the Belles lacrosse program.

Graduating senior Katlynn Dee, junior Hanna Makowski, and junior Clare Theisen were among 532 NCAA Divsion III student-athletes who earned IWLCA Zag Sports Academic Honor Roll recognition for 2016-17. According to the IWLCA, student-athletes must be a junior, senior, or graduate student and have earned a cumulative academic GPA of 3.50 or greater to receive the distinction. Dee earned the honor as a junior while it is the first recognition for Makowski and Theisen. It is also the first time in the four-year history of the program in which the Belles have had multiple honorees on the list.

For the complete lists of both the IWLCA Zag Sports Academic Honor Squads and the Academic Honor Roll, visit the IWLCA website.