Mathematics and Computer Science Honors and Awards

Martin H. Dull Scholarships

Professor Martin H. Dull was a member of the Mathematics faculty until his death at the age of 39 in 1981. His family, friends, and former students have given an endowment which awards scholarships in his memory. It was first awarded in 1983; the College then doubled the award with the hope of encouraging more mathematically gifted women who have financial need. The fund, which continues to grow with gifts from friends and alumnae, now awards up to four grants of $500 each.

Jeglic Award

Through the generosity and mathematical enthusiasm of Professor Milko Jeglic and his family, the college awards $500 to the graduating senior who has earned the highest number of quality points in seven semesters of mathematics at Saint Mary's. The award is made at the annual Honors Convocation and the recipient's name is engraved on a plaque in the mathematics department. Professor Jeglic taught mathematics from 1951 to 1979 at Saint Mary's.

Elizabeth Lin Lo Award

The Elizabeth Lin Lo award of $250 is given to a rising senior mathematics major who displays a talent or passion for mathematics and most exemplifies the mission of the College, both in her academic performance and in her service to Saint Mary's and/or the local community.

Donald E. Miller Award

Donald E. Miller, a member of the Mathematics faculty for 40 years, was a longtime chair of the department and beloved softball coach until his death in the spring of 2008. A portion of his memorial fund was designated to fund this award of $250 given to a graduating senior who has demonstrated both a passion for mathematics as well as an interest outside of the discipline, such as a minor or second major, athletics, performing arts, or service. The award also recognizes outstanding performance (minimum GPA of 3.0), with preference given to those whose interest is applied mathematics.

Modeling Contest

Math majors are offered the opportunity to participate in The Mathematical Contest in Modeling sponsored annually by the Consortium for Mathematics and its Applications (COMAP). Each year up to six students are invited by the department to enroll in a five week modeling course (Math 382) and spend a winter weekend modeling a problem proposed by COMAP. Students work in teams of three, thus simulating the approach to problem solving most often used in business and industry. In twenty -one years of participation, eighteen Saint Mary's teams have received recognition for their quality work in this international competition, including one of our 2010 team's "Meritorious Winner" designation—a very significant achievement!

Click here for more information on the 2010 contest.


2010 Award Winners

Liana Rohr '10 – Jeglic Award

Mary Zahm '10 – Donald E. Miller Award

Megan Griffin ' 11 – Elizabeth Lin Lo Award

Martin Dull Scholars for the 2009 – 2010 Academic Year:

Shanna Goffinet '10

Grace McClurkin '11

Danielle Gannon '12

Katherine Griffin '13


2009 Award Winners

Kristin Bildhauser – Jeglic Award