Meet the Admission Staff

We look forward to working with you and your family. Whether you're just beginning your college search or narrowing down your options, your admission counselor is a great resource for:

  • answering your questions about admission policies and deadlines.
  • understanding the admission application requirements and timeline.
  • helping you to determine if Saint Mary’s is a good fit, based on your interests, goals, and qualifications.
  • getting information about Saint Mary’s student activities and organizations.
  • learning about the unique student community Saint Mary’s shares with the University of Notre Dame.
  • understanding the application requirements and deadlines for need-based and merit-based financial aid.
  • demystifying the admission review process—your admission counselor reads your application first and acts as an advocate for you within the admission committee.

Connecting with your admission counselor is easy!

  • Complete this simple form and we’ll reach out to you
  • Email us at admission@saintmarys.edu 
  • Call us at 800-551-7621
  • Text us at 574-284-4587 (By texting Saint Mary's, you're opting in to receive text messages from the Office of Admission.)
  • Find your admission counselor below and email her or him directly
  • Meet your admission counselor at your high school or a college fair

Admission Staff

Mona Bowe

Vice President for Enrollment Management
mbowe@saintmarys.edu

Sarah Gallagher Dvorak, SMC '99

Director of Admission
sdvorak@saintmarys.edu

Stephanie Brown, SMC '04

Associate Director of Admission
sbrown@saintmarys.edu

  • Indiana (Local Counties: Elkhart, Fulton, Kosciusko, Marshall, Pulaski, Starke, and St. Joseph)

Alex Bauer

Admission Counselor
abauer@saintmarys.edu

  • California
  • Indiana (Northeast Indiana and East Central Indiana)
  • Massachusetts
  • Ohio (City of Cleveland, Northwest, North Central, and Northeast Ohio, Cuyahoga, Geauga, and Lake Counties)

Colleen Burke, SMC '16

Admission Counselor
cburke@saintmarys.edu

  • Indiana (Northwest Indiana, "The Region", West Central Indiana)
  • Wisconsin
  • Pennsylvania (Northwestern and Southwestern Pennsylvania, Southern Pennsylvania-West, Allegheny County)
  • Texas

Wanda Dudley

Assistant Director of Admission/Campus Visit Coordinator
wdudley@saintmarys.edu

Valerie Efta

Assistant Director of Admission/Social Media Coordinator
vefta@saintmarys.edu

  • Indiana (Greater Indianapolis, West, South Central, East, Southwest, and Southeast Indiana)
  • Michigan (Wayne County, Detroit's Northern Suburbs, Ann Arbor, and "the Thumb")
  • Pennsylvania (Bucks, Chester, Delaware, Montgomery, and Philadelphia Counties, Lehigh Valley, Northeastern and North Central Pennsylvania, and Southern Pennsylvania-East)

Melissa Fruscione

Associate Director of Graduate Admission
mfruscione@saintmarys.edu

Colleen Golden, SMC '12

Senior Admission Counselor
cgolden@saintmarys.edu

  • Maryland
  • Michigan (Capital District, Kalamazoo and Grand Rapids, and Northern Michigan)
  • New Jersey
  • Virginia
  • Washington, D.C.

Anne Knauf, SMC '14

Admission Counselor
aknauf@saintmarys.edu

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Mississippi
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Mexico
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio (Greater Cincinnati, West Central, Central, and Southeast Ohio)
  • Oklahoma
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • West Virginia
  • Wyoming

*Bolded states are those traveled to by counselor.

Rachel Piontek, SMC '10

Assistant Director of Admission
International Admission Coordinator
rpiontek@saintmarys.edu

  • International Applicants
  • U.S. Territories
  • Missouri

Lindsay Romeo

Admission Counselor
lromeo@saintmarys.edu

  • Transfer applicants
  • Arizona
  • Illinois (Chicago's South and Southwest Suburbs)
  • Minnesota

Rita Veron

Associate Director of Admission/Chicago Regional Representative
rveron@saintmarys.edu

  • Illinois (City of Chicago, Chicago's Chain of Lakes, Northwest Suburbs, North Shore, Evanston, and Skokie)
  • New York
  • Oregon
  • Washington

Cara Firestein, SMC '16

Admission Counselor
cfirestein@saintmarys.edu

  • Illinois (Chicago's West Suburbs, Rockford, Quad Cities, Peoria, Springfield, Decatur, Champaign, Southern Illinois)
  • Florida

Contact Us

If you are seeking additional information, please contact the Admission Office:

Telephone

  • (574) 284-4587
  • 1-800-551-7621
  • FAX: (574) 284-4841

Email

admission@saintmarys.edu

U.S. Mail

Admission Office
Saint Mary's College
Notre Dame, Indiana 46556-5001